Hockey: Indian Oil lift Beighton Cup


 Seasoned campaigner Deepak Thakur scored from a penalty shootout to propel Indian Oil to a title finish with a 5-4 (3-2 on penalty strokes) winner over Punjab National Bank in the final of the 119th All India Beighton Cup Hockey Tournament here Thursday.

The match rolled into the shootout after the two sides finished 2-2 in regulation time.

Sumeet Singh, Gagandeep Singh and Thakur converted the penalty strokes for the winners while Damandeep Singh and Mathiaz Minz were successful for PNB.

Vikarma Kant and Harmans Singh of Indian Oil and PNB’S Arjun Antil, Yudhvir Singh and Hardeep Singh missed the strokes.

Earlier, Hardeep Singh put the bankmen ahead in the 17th minute, but Harman Singh restored parity immediately during the SAI Eastern Centre game.

Damandeep then put PNB ahead two minutes before half time.

However, Roshan Minz made the scoreline 2-2 in the 67th minute.


Avenewz Among Celebrities
FREE EVENTS LISTING                                Call AVENEWZ +61-408 000 830, +61-6114 9670